ESH Video

John Goldman Award




The European School of Haematology (ESH) is proud to present the John Goldman Award.

The recipient of this annual award will receive a total of 80K€ to finance or co-finance a research project on TREATMENT FREE REMISSION (TFR).

The research project will have a maximum duration of two years.

Submitted projects must:

– aim to develop a method, algorithm or test to reliably identify patients able to benefit from treatment discontinuation, thereby significantly improving the probability of TFR success,

– demonstrate potential to improve healthcare standards for Chronic Myeloid Leukaemia (CML) patients or for patients suffering from other haematological malignancies.

The Call for Applications for the 2nd John Goldman Award is now closed. Stay tuned for the announcement of the Awardee!

For further information please contact with copy to

European School of Haematology (ESH)
Saint-Louis Research Institute,
Saint-Louis Hospital,
1 avenue Claude Vellefaux
Paris 75010, France

We invite you to watch the panel discussion video on the 1st John Goldman International Award on Treatment Free Remission, with:
– Hervé Dombret, ESH President, Saint-Louis Research Institute, Saint-Louis Hospital, Paris (Moderator),
– Daniela Krause, ESH Scientific Committee member, Georg-Speyer-Haus and Goethe University Frankfurt (Panelist),
– François-Xavier Mahon, ESH Scientific Committee past member, Institut Bergonié, Bordeaux (Panelist),
– Ilaria Pagani, 1st John Goldman Awardee, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute, Adelaide (Panelist),
– Ana Rita Ferreira, Medical Director CML, Novartis Europe (Panelist):



Dr. Ilaria Pagani

Leukaemia Research Group, Cancer Program, SAHMRI, Adelaide, Australia

For her two year project on
“Use of machine learning to integrate clinical data and biomarkers to optimise prediction of TFR”

“It is an honour and a pleasure to be the first John Goldman Research Prize Awardee. Receiving funding support from the European School of Haematology (ESH) is a privilege. It represents a critical step in my career towards becoming an independent investigator and provides the opportunity to build new collaborations. My project aims to identify bioassays that can be integrated with clinical data in a machine learning system to develop a

personalized predictive model for treatment free remission (TFR). I expect it will bring novel insights into the biology of TFR, opening new horizons toward the discovery of targeted therapies and improving TFR patient outcome.” 


ESH extends sincere thanks to the 2019 Award reviewers:

Jorge Cortes (Augusta, USA)
Michael Hallek (Cologne, Germany)
Hervé Dombret (Paris, France)
Andreas Hochhaus (Jena, Germany)
Alessandro Vannucchi (Florence, Italy)
Andrew Rawstron (Leeds, UK)